Home » Examination & guidelines

Examination & guidelines

Home » Examination & guidelines

Examination & guidelines

by CGIA Institute

The CGIA examination

Upon a successful exam registration, candidates receive an email with a confirmation letter with all relevant links to exam courseware. Candidates further receive an update from the examination registration team either via direct phone call or email.

The CGIA Charter Program includes a series of exams covering three (3) levels. Candidates must pass all levels and satisfy all obligations before the CGIA designation is awarded.

All Levels (I, II, III)
– Are offered four times every year — at exam centres near you (specify during registration)— in January, April, July & October.

– All exams for all levels are now offered via the CCBE, that’s the CGIA Computer-Based Exam beginning January 2021.

– Must be registered and passed sequentially. That’s a candidate can move to the next level only after passing the preceding level.

– Are available and written in English only. Check our English Language Requirements below.

The CGIA professional examination at all levels is held in January, April, July and October of every year.

2024 Exams Schedule

January   15 – 20 Jan. 2024
April 1 – 6 April 2024
July 1 – 6 July, 2024

October    7 – 12 Oct. 2024

*** Kindly note that only candidates who have satisfied all their obligations as registered members, (thus, paid their annual subscription and paid for all exam fees, exemptions applicable to date) are eligible to sit for the exam. ***

The CGIA examination council is responsible for providing examination questions for assessment and marking of scripts. CGIA Charter Program exam is held in all the exam centers and centers are communicated to candidates during registration.

List of courses

A1  Investment I

A2  Corporate Finance I

A3  Financial Risk Management

A4  Alternative Investment

A5  Investment II

A6  Corporate Finance II

A7  Financial Reporting & Analysis I

A8  Investment Analysis & Portfolio Management I

A9  Derivatives Analysis I

A10 Investment Ethics I

A11  Financial Reporting & Analysis II

A12  Investment Analysis & Portfolio Management II

A13  Derivatives Analysis II

A14  Investment Ethics II

Examination structure

The Level I exam consists of 70 multiple choice questions which are all compulsory.



The duration for the Level I exams is two hours.

The Level II exam consists of 100 multiple choice questions which are all compulsory.



The duration for the Level II exams is two and a half hours.

The Level III exam consists of 140 multiple choice questions which are all compulsory.



The duration for the Level III exams is 3 hours and 15 minutes.

Change of exam center

Candidates who wish to change exam center must do so at least six weeks before the exam date. Candidates are therefore advised to give due consideration to several factors that may have influence on them before they choose an exam center.

Exam results

The examination results for all CGIA candidates are available online through candidate online portal (login required) and also via electronic mail using the address provided by candidate during registration.

Pass mark

The CGIA exam is marked over 100 points per paper. In order to ensure quality training and uphold the ethical code of conduct and professionalism of the CGIA Charter Program, the pass mark for each paper is set at 50%.


Candidates may seek exemptions from one or more courses of the CGIA curriculum. However, candidates must have achieved an exam pass from a recognized institution. A qualification from a recognized awarding institution does not automatically confer an exemption for a CGIA award and the exemption decision will be based upon the level of match between the two. All requests for exemptions are considered based on the merits on the application.

English language requirements

CGIA exam are written only in English and hence require a good standard of English, as well as knowledge of the technical terms associated with the subject matter.

All questions are designed to test specific knowledge and understanding and candidates need to absorb information quickly and to read questions very closely.

2024 Exams Schedule

January Exams       15 – 20 January, 2024

April Exams              1 – 6 April, 2024

July Exams                1 – 6 July, 2024

October Exams         7 – 12 October, 2024

Mode of exam

Starting from January 2021, all the CGIA exams are offered via the CCBE – CGIA Computer-Based Exams.

CGIA exams are written four times in a year, that is January, April, July and October each year.